This versatile, pared down curation of clothing is full of basics that can be mixed and matched. And while it may look a little different for every person and their lifestyle, it remains a simple, easy way to organize your clothing and assemble outfits, saving you time and effort. I recently rebuilt my own capsule wardrobe after I began working mostly from home, ensuring it was filled with functional pieces for this season of life and that it would be full of well-fitting pieces that made me feel fantastic. The result: a mix of smart, stylish pieces and athleisure essentials that I can wear when meeting friends, hitting the gym, and working remotely.

Editor-Loved Capsule Wardrobe Finds

When I began to curate my closet, I didn’t have to start from scratch. I already had some basics, like a warm winter coat, durable workout leggings, and a basic white button-down shirt. I held onto my classic poplin style top knowing I could wear it on its own, or I could layer it under a blazer or sweater. It’s not form-fitting, but I still opted to size up for a looser, oversized look that I could pair with jeans, skirts, and even leggings. It’s proven to be a year-round workhorse. A versatile dress that can be styled with both sneakers and heels is another handy piece to have on hand, which is why I added this printed wrap dress to my closet. The long-sleeved piece comes in 26 colors featuring various prints and fabrics that all can be worn casually with nice white sneakers (like my go-to kicks) or dressed up with heels. It’s the perfect weight for fall and spring, and during the winter, I layer it with tights, boots, and a cardigan.